Breaking News

Corona Virus Full Stats

[cvct country-code="IN" style="style-6" title="India Stats" label-total="Total Cases" label-deaths="Deaths" label-recovered="Recovered" bg-color="#000f7b" font-color="#ffffff"]
[cvct country-code="all" style="style-1" title="Global Stats" label-total="Total Cases" label-deaths="Deaths" label-recovered="Recovered" bg-color="#eeeeee" font-color="#222222"] Read more
Home » News » President presents Padma awards

President presents Padma awards

NEW DELHI: Nobel laureate Indian-origin scientist Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, noted theatre personality Ebrahim Alkazi and founder-chairman of the Apollo Hospitals Prathap Chandra Reddy were conferred the Padma Vibhushan, second highest civilian award, by President Pratibha Patil on Wednesday.

Music maestro A.R. Rahman, film actor Aamir Khan, classical vocalist Pandit Channulal Mishra and prominent hotelier Captain C.P. Krishnan Nair were among 21 distinguished persons who were honoured with Padma Bhushan at a ceremony in the Ashoka Hall at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.The loud applause was reserved for sportspersons Saina Nehwal (badminton), Virendra Sehwag (cricket) and Ignace Tirkey (hockey), when they walked up to the podium to receive Padma Shri award from the President.Despite his IPL fixture in the Capital, Sehwag, vice-captain of the country’s squad, made it a point to stay throughout the award ceremony, in sharp contrast to some cricketers who were named for Padma Shri last year but skipped the presentation ceremony.Read Full Story From Publisher

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *