Breaking News

Corona Virus Full Stats

India Stats

968,117 Total Cases
24,915 Deaths
612,782 Recovered

Global Stats

13,570,485 Total Cases
583,632 Deaths
7,927,793 Recovered
Read more
Home » Sports » Chennai Super Kings retain Indian Premier League title

Chennai Super Kings retain Indian Premier League title

Murali Vijay smashed 95 from 52 balls, adding 159 in 14.5 overs with Mike Hussey (63), as Chennai made an imposing 205-5 from their 20 overs.

Bangalore lost big-hitting West Indian opener Chris Gayle in the first over and were never in the hunt.

India captain Mahendra Dhoni lifted the trophy for the second successive year.

Dhoni won the toss at Chennai’s MA Chidambaram Stadium, as he had in their 22-run win against Mumbai Indians in the 2010 final.

But Vijay and Hussey helped them post the highest total of the four IPL finals which have been contested so far, with Vijay hoisting six sixes and his Australian partner adding three more.

Dhoni joined in the fun with a cameo innings of 22 from 13 balls, including two maximums of his own, as Bangalore captain Daniel Vettori, the former New Zealand skipper, rotated his bowlers in vain.

Having handed the new ball to spinner Ravichandran Ashwin (3-16), Dhoni then caught Gayle for a third-ball duck when he edged behind the stumps, and Bangalore fell well short despite Virat Kohli’s 35 and Saurabh Tiwary’s unbeaten 42.

Chennai have now contested three of the IPL’s four finals, winning for the last two years.

Aside from Eoin Morgan – who made 137 runs in 12 games for Kolkata – English players have made little impact on the 2011 tournament.

Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Dimitri Mascarenhas and Kevin Pietersen were bought at this year’s auction but missed the tournament through injury, while Michael Lumb (Deccan) and Owais Shah (Kochi) made only four appearances between them.

Source :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *